Universal Studios,Orlando: Day 3

by kouthap

Nostalgia: a wistful or excessively sentimental yearning for return to or of some past period or irrecoverable condition

Walking through Universal Studios on our third day in Orlando , I was enveloped with a sense of nostalgia. The last time I had visited Universal Studios, I was a graduate student at Purdue University and had saved up money for the trip through a summer internship. The first time I was on the Simpson’s ride and Shrek 4-D was indeed special.

Expecting to be just as enthralled this time, I was surprised I was a little disappointed with the experience. While the rides were still enjoyable, they felt one-note as there were no additions or updates to the actual rides, characters or story-line since my last visit.

DSC_0662

 

Here were my favorite rides:

1. Twister:

Twister is a special effects simulation ride based on the movie Twister starring Helen Hunt and Bill Paxton. The ‘ride’ is standing on observation platform and witnessing a tornado as depicted in the movie.  I think I enjoyed the Twister experience even better due to the hysterical screaming of a scared woman in front of me. I thought we might have a medical emergency at the end of the ride when the floor of the observation platform lurches in climactic ending to the ride and she fell face-forward on the ground.

DSC_0635

2. Despicable Me:

While I hadn’t watched this movie, the ride was absolutely adorable. My favorite part of the ride was the pre-show room in Gru’s laboratory where he walks through the process of turning humans into minions; interactive and hilarious! It didn’t help my ego though when I realized I was as tall as the Minions.

DSC_0632

3. Revenge of the Mummy:

An enclosed roller-coaster ride with a 39 ft. drop towards the end of the ride ( read more here); this ride was entertaining with an adrenalin rush.

DSC_0646

